Wow. Astute and Heartstring pulling. Bravo.

Screenshots, Stories, Movies, and Tall Tales...

Wow. Astute and Heartstring pulling. Bravo.

Postby AADX » 11 Nov 2009 11:55

From org thread & post :
http://forums.x-plane.org/index.php?sho ... t&p=465651

crazycomposer wrote:An issue that seems to be overlooked, save for by those who are doing the actual work, is the question of the inherent value - oft underestimated - of creativity. I've now read several posts in which creative endeavours are ascribed arbitrary 'rates' that are based on what a 'fair' wage would be, assuming that the creative act is completed within a set framework of time, of course, and that the act does not require anything other than 'time' (you know, things like specialized skills in the production of 3D graphics, graphic design, general design, and any number of other things that I can't think of for the simple reason that I'm a composer and writer, NOT a 3D cockpit designer).

Coming from my background as a fellow creative there has always been something that I've been able to appreciate in the work of others: the investment of time and person that has gone into a project. I always appreciate the works of Mid7night, for example, because of what he includes in his remarks: "As with all my projects, HUGE thanks must go first to my wife Natalie for putting up with me during this - I couldn't do it without her. :-)" Here is a man who understands the commitment that creativity involves - and who wants to keep his marriage safe - he realizes that being creative is often tied to what is referred to an imperative rather than a desire, we are often driven to be creative; it is not at all like 'going to work' and punching a time card at an ordinary job.