GoFlight control units

Screenshots, Stories, Movies, and Tall Tales...

GoFlight control units

Postby GlowWorm » 03 Aug 2010 06:27

Aloha all,

Having getting totally nuts with the point and click interface of XP I looked into some hardware to enhance the look and feel when flying Jason's planes. Try changing settings when flying through clouds.

I found 4 modules from GoFlight Inc that work great with Sandy Barbours GoFlight plug in. For now that's my basic setup of flight control hardware.
1. AutoPilot
2. Toggle switches
3. Push buttons + rotary knobs
4. Multi mode Nav/Com display

Adding to the rig is easy: all USB based and made of iron casing. The AutoPilot unit (which is based on the B737 MCP) has presets that work out of the box, and can be adjusted afterwards. (The plugin is so flexible that the AutoPilot unit can be assigned non-AutoPilot functions, such as Taxi light, Strobe, Light, or EFIS mode selectors, to name a few possibilities.) The other 3 modules need function assignment for the knobs, buttons and modes. So that's what I'm doing to fit the Mirage for instance, the Starship, and later the EC135 helo. Settings are stored in a text file, so with a simple replacement of that file, it's easy to have a custom set of functions for each plane you fly. The magnetic labels that come with the modules will aid as a memory as you stick them in the recess faceplate. The modules have no internal lighting - that'd be even cooler.

The pic shows the current set up, except for the AutoPilot module, the 3 other ones only contain a faceplace and are supposed to be ready to be rackmounted: the circuit board is exposed at the back. It fits nicely under the 2 24" LCDs which I use with a 85 degree field of view and in HUD mode when cruising. When doing patterns I use 3D view to give me a sense of being in the front and better situational awareness. The 3 flight instruments left and right of the set are not connected btw, they're their for decoration. I'm exploring SimKits or similar simulated instruments, but a basic six + VOR would cost around 2500 USD.

IMG_0024.jpg
GlowWorm's flight deck
Aloha!,
. GlowWorm

Hangar: Starship Mirage Velocity XL Cassutt AADx250TP _x1500 _x450TJ _LearFan CMM510 Colani Fanliner C-T182T Cirrus SE-22T Lear 25 EC135 EC145 A109 B430

http://x-plane.push-point.net
http://twitter.com/XPglowworm
User avatar
GlowWorm
Moderator
 
Posts: 213
Joined: 25 Feb 2009 13:41
Location: PHNY KHAF EHLE VHSK YNTM

Re: GoFlight control units

Postby kiofka » 03 Aug 2010 09:35

:shock:
Just a few more buttons and switches and your room will be airborn...
Nice Sim Glo

:cylon1:
THOR, the mean machine
Windows 8.1
i7 4930 (6x @ 3.4 GHz/12MB L3 Cache)
ASUS X79 extreme 9 motherboard w/16GB DDR3 1866 RAM
Nvidia GeForce GTX 780 3GB overclocked
HDMI 27" LCD 1920 x 1080
User avatar
kiofka
Flight Specialist
 
Posts: 272
Joined: 17 Mar 2009 17:51
Location: Central California

Re: GoFlight control units

Postby GlowWorm » 03 Aug 2010 09:45

Thx, :D

I've been eyeballing these sim gauges :) :
http://simkits.com/products.php?groupid=36

The basic six + 1 or 2 VOR display will set you back 2500 USD :shock: , and it only runs on Win. :evil:

Current set was 850 USD with shipping: consisting of:
1. GF-MCP Pro
2. GF-RP48 Rotary knobs and pushbuttons
3. GF-166A multi mode com/nav radio, dme, DH and more.
4. GF-T8 Toggle switch

BTW: SimKits offer a Cessna dashboard for about 40K - FAA approved. :P The good part: it works with X-Plane. :evil: The bad part: Win-only. http://www.simkits.com/product.php?prodid=614 ;)


kiofka wrote::shock:
Just a few more buttons and switches and your room will be airborn...
Nice Sim Glo

:cylon1:
Aloha!,
. GlowWorm

Hangar: Starship Mirage Velocity XL Cassutt AADx250TP _x1500 _x450TJ _LearFan CMM510 Colani Fanliner C-T182T Cirrus SE-22T Lear 25 EC135 EC145 A109 B430

http://x-plane.push-point.net
http://twitter.com/XPglowworm
User avatar
GlowWorm
Moderator
 
Posts: 213
Joined: 25 Feb 2009 13:41
Location: PHNY KHAF EHLE VHSK YNTM

Re: GoFlight control units

Postby GlowWorm » 03 Aug 2010 09:53

Here's a pic of it in action on my iMac 24". I used the a 737 as a comparison to quickly check how the MCP Pro (which is based on a B737) would compare. I don't intend to use this module for heavies - not my cup of tea. ;)

The GF166A module shows NAV1 radio selected and its standby frequency. I've assigned the functions of this unit in such way that when I press the right button it will go thru the different NAV, COM, DME, ADF and DH and other modes.

GlowWorm_IMG_1449.jpg
GoFlight auto pilot module in action on Apple iMac.
Aloha!,
. GlowWorm

Hangar: Starship Mirage Velocity XL Cassutt AADx250TP _x1500 _x450TJ _LearFan CMM510 Colani Fanliner C-T182T Cirrus SE-22T Lear 25 EC135 EC145 A109 B430

http://x-plane.push-point.net
http://twitter.com/XPglowworm
User avatar
GlowWorm
Moderator
 
Posts: 213
Joined: 25 Feb 2009 13:41
Location: PHNY KHAF EHLE VHSK YNTM

Re: GoFlight control units

Postby kiofka » 03 Aug 2010 13:47

Way cool Glo, here's my setup. Let's see if we can't get others to post theirs as well.
Kiofkas setup.jpg
THOR, the mean machine
Windows 8.1
i7 4930 (6x @ 3.4 GHz/12MB L3 Cache)
ASUS X79 extreme 9 motherboard w/16GB DDR3 1866 RAM
Nvidia GeForce GTX 780 3GB overclocked
HDMI 27" LCD 1920 x 1080
User avatar
kiofka
Flight Specialist
 
Posts: 272
Joined: 17 Mar 2009 17:51
Location: Central California

Re: GoFlight control units

Postby GlowWorm » 03 Aug 2010 14:23

I like your colourful post-its and the wood. Very clean setup.
Aloha!,
. GlowWorm

Hangar: Starship Mirage Velocity XL Cassutt AADx250TP _x1500 _x450TJ _LearFan CMM510 Colani Fanliner C-T182T Cirrus SE-22T Lear 25 EC135 EC145 A109 B430

http://x-plane.push-point.net
http://twitter.com/XPglowworm
User avatar
GlowWorm
Moderator
 
Posts: 213
Joined: 25 Feb 2009 13:41
Location: PHNY KHAF EHLE VHSK YNTM


Return to Crew Lounge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: EasouSpider [bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests

cron